The Most Accurate Summation of School

After writing the last post, I found this cartoon while scrolling through my Tumblr dash.

Initially, I scrolled past it, not paying it much attention, but as I got down to the last panel and saw the words, ‘I have no clue about what I want to do with my life,’ I knew I had to see what it was about. After all, I’d just written a blog post about feeling lost in my own life and it could’ve been likely that the cartoonist was going through a similar situation.

When I read it, I realized that the cartoon is merely an illustration of a real speech given by a high school graduate at her graduation. During the speech, the girl speaks honestly about her time in high school, which she admits was spent dutifully doing everything that was expected of her without actually learning or developing key interests, among other things.

Everything she says in her speech reminds me of how I was/am, which is why I felt compelled to share it.

Leave a Reply

